• Simon Ridley
    As a musician I spend a great deal of time listening, enjoying (or otherwise!) and analysing the performances of other, either by recording or attending a live performance. Listening to music, particularly that which intend to play yourself, is usually considered an essential component of preperation and personal devolpment. Indeed, a musician who never listened to music would be considered at best, quite odd and at worst, incompetent.

Besides, don't we enjoy listening to top quality ringing or benefit from analysing our own?

I have a pet theory that those who talk on the bench during practice are the least accurate strikers, but more seriously - why as ringers do we rarely take time to listen to others?

So a question - why are peals, quarter peals and perhaps other general ringing not advertised in advance so we have the opportunity to go and listen, either locally or futher afield? Perhaps a Bellboard of the future might be able to list upcoming attempts of all sorts so we might be able to go and listen to others performing? So often I have seen a peal and thought "I wouldn't have minded listening to that"!

Live performance is what we are all about - so why do we not advertise our upcoming performances either to the local public and other ringers? Ok, so we don't all want to sit in a freezing rural churchyard at 10am on a rainy Saturday. The 12 bell has overcome this with a live feed - perhaps bellboard could make a diary and live feed a thing?

Listening to others l, particualrly those better than us, should be part of our devolpment as ringers. Why do we shy away from doing it?
  • Phillip George
    I agree, we always advertise our extra ringing to the village. This is usually quarter peals, but could be ringing meetings or training events. Good PR and we usually get some positive feedback.
  • Simon Linford