• Rob Coley
    Hello - I'm an academic researcher, currently working on a project that has led me to investigate some aspects of change ringing.

I'm particularly interested in the patterns of change ringing and the 'factorial' number of bell towers. I'm trying to get a sense of the sheer complexity involved in ringing the changes of a large number of bells.

I don't have the reference to hand (I think it was probably in George Grove’s Dictionary of Music and Musicians), but I've read that it would take around thirty minutes to continually ring the changes of six bells, three and a half hours to ring each permutation of seven, and more than a full day to ring eight. I assume that the other figures I have noted down are purely hypothetical - over 100 days to ring the changes of ten bells, almost 38 years to ring twelve!

Does this sound correct? Any clarification and/or further sources on this would be very much appreciated.
  • John de Overa
    There is a good explanation here, including a table of how long it would take to ring all the permutations of different numbers of bells.

The Mathematics of Bell Ringing
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44jXUo6KaVs
  • Rob Coley

Thanks for this. Interestingly, the figures given by Prof Hart in this lecture are lower than those in Grove's Dictionary and the gap becomes exponentially larger as the number of bells increases.

This, I presume, is simply due to a difference in the estimated time taken to ring each row. Hart's table is based on 2 seconds per row, Grove doesn't provide any figure.

Do you have any thoughts on this? I'm comparing 19th and 21st century estimations here - it is simply a case of different estimations or could ringing have occurred more slowly in the past (assuming that pace/rhythm isn't dictated by the bells themselves)? Apologies if this is a stupid question!
  • A J Barnfield